Flicking through last Sunday’s The Observer’s supplement and I came across this article by Alice Fisher. Initially, the vitriol rose, nostrils flared – bull, red flag, boiling point. But in all fairness I was a bit judgmental. Ms Fisher’s piece is more of an Observarion. Very Observant, seeing that you would have to be blind to miss this trend. O, plaid shirt wearer, how I love thee. In the article, Topman design director, Gordon Richardson, quasi-boasts that sales of pl*!D shirts [I cannot bear to type that dirty word again] are up 540% from 2 years ago.

540%!!

Pile ’em high and sell ’em cheap, Gordie. Having said that I do have to admit that I don’t mind them on girls. They can look sexy on the right sort of girl. Like Gabriella, the model, below. She wears it well but then again she’s a model and it would be criminal if she didn’t_

Gabriella, 19, Model

Comments

5 Comments

Post a comment
  1. April 14, 2010

    I really don’t like plaid things, shirts included. Some people do wear them well, though.

  2. April 17, 2010

    because of your plaid crusade, I now started playing this game whenever I’m out. It’s called “spot plaid”

    last weekend, I was at a lovely cafe ..I looked and there it was, plaid#1, ..plaid#2, AHH plaid#5! it’s getting out of hand!!

    I do have a confession though, I do own not one, but two plaid shirt. and I do wear them good.

    • April 17, 2010

      Loving it! I don’t mind girls wearing it. Kind of falls into that “Boyfriend Shirt” territoty. Bit cliche but it works. Nothing wrong with that. It’s the sheep mentality in men that drives me up the wall. I guess guys don’t want to stand out so this is the perfect way to make a statement without being too different…
      Maybe I’m just a big girl at heart!

  3. Johan #
    April 14, 2012

    Man! I really really love plaid shirts! They look good EVERYONE!!!!

    • April 14, 2012

      Haha, actually I succumbed in the end! Damn it!!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS