Ok, I’ve been doing this for nearly 8 months now. 8 months! I started this blog on a whim – bored one rainy day in August. I have a very short attention span and I guess it was sort of a challenge to see if I could keep it up for more than a month. I’m talking about blogging here. I am also prone to being puerile from time to time! I didn’t realise how much hard work blogging is. Hours of editing photographs, writing, checking the layout… I guess I was tired of all the “fashion” blogs out there. Mostly girls taking pictures of themselves wearing apparently cool things. How original, how stylish, darlings. You like but do you understand? You could swap one for the other. This has never been a blog purely about fashion. It’s a diary of sorts. And I’m not just interested in NEWNESS.com. Good design is good design, old or new. I’ve always liked writing but never finished a short story – that attention span thing rears its head up again! Valerie, from Christmas will return. I’ve been sporadically working on her trials and tribulations. My father still has all the stories I tried to write when I was a teenager stored in box somewhere. I’m dreading the day I look through them. Some of them had a few “erotic” scenes in them. I dread even more that he might have, probably has read through them! Blame it on the hormones.

The hardest thing about blogging is being disciplined. I try to do a blog every day. Try to… There are moments of absolute panic when I get Blogger’s Block ©. No ideas, nothing to say. I’m gripped with fear [insert melodramatic gasp here]. Its similar to designing. Doesn’t matter how many collections you’ve got under your belt its like starting all over again. You try, you hate, you scrunch, you smoke another cigarette, you try, you scrunch, you reach for the Merlot, you try, you almost cry and then… Aha! You find your way in. I know I’ll be done with designing and blogging when that feeling of pure anguish goes away. It means that I’m not challenging myself, that its too easy. The reward is breaking through that pain barrier and riding that big ole wave of creative euphoria. Knowing that you’ve still got “it”.

A big thank you to all who have read, commented, emailed and criticised over the last 8 months. I’ve learnt a lot about myself in the process. Blogging has also sharpened my eye and allowed me to make sense of things. It helps de-clutter one’s thoughts. Let’s see if I can make it to year one. I’ll give it a go.

PS Apologies for the numerous typos. I have the annoying habit of proofreading after I’ve posted. I also hate the look of large text and have slight short-sightedness. You get where I’m going with this. TTFN. LFN

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. April 6, 2010

    why thank you for editing, photographing, writing, checking the layout, and not labeling your blog.

    • April 6, 2010

      Haha, it is labelled. Right at the top. I tried to fix it but ended up having a CSS meltdown. Teeny does it

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS