Regular readers will know that I’m not a fan of uploading ad campaigns or editorial. This isn’t what this blog is about. When I do so its because I genuinely like the piece or it relates to something else. Like this Chanel jacket you see here, from the Spring-Summer 2010 campaign. I like it A LOT.

I have a love/hate relationship with Chanel. Individually, I love the pieces. As a show I sometimes find it plodding and contrived, bordering on the twee despite the creative chutzpah. Recently, however, their ad campaigns have been amongst the strongest. I wonder if Karl Lagerfeld still shoots them? They tell a story that is unmistakably Chanel’s and in a time when most brands are distilling their core values Chanel is arguably up there, stronger than ever.


This jacket is worth doing time for. If I was a girl and if I could afford it I would definitely be popping down to Rue Cambon. Hell, if I could afford it I’d buy it anyway. Collector’s item. Museum piece. Hang it on the wall and drool. It sums up the house ethos perfectly – a nonchalant approach to luxury. Who was it that said [Yves Saint Laurent?]  “Wear your furs like a t-shirt, and your t-shirt like fur”? Or words to that effect. The message is still the same.

The collection was inspired by a romp through the farm yard, albeit a custom-built one in the middle of Paris. A couture barn dance. Not your typical farm hands, indeed. The pictures speak for themselves. An incredible amount of detail and texture done with a light hand. And the cut at the back… New Oxygen ©

Comments

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. February 26, 2010

    That jacket is worth doing time for – except they probably wouldn’t let me carry it to jail . . . And the photography is truly stunning. Nice post.

    • February 27, 2010

      Ta, luv! That would really be the most fierce jail bait look – a Chanel jacket. Kind of how I’d imagine Anna Wintour if she ever did time…

  2. March 29, 2013

    Amazing. I’m with you on doing time for this amazing creation. WOW!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS