Andy Warhol: Triple Rauschenberg, 1964. From the Sonnabend Collection

I once had the pleasure of sitting on the same bench in the line-up room (Mid-town Manhattan NYPD) that J Lo and P Diddy sat when he got arrested! Claim to fame, hey! Lucky for me I was the victim that instance and not the criminal. I ended up there after waiting 4 hours to see a detective after being scammed on Craig’s List with a bogus apartment sub let. Since then found out that sub letting in Manhattan’s actually illegal so I was actually breaking the law anyway. Gawd, that place was ancient. You’d have thought that being the busiest precinct in Manhattan things would be a bit more  21st century. Nada. It was like stepping back on the set of Cagney and Lacey. They’d only had computers , at the time two years ago, for a year! Push button phones? I don’t think so. Archaic.

Anyway, whilst waiting I snuck a few photos on my iPhone. Talk about holiday pics! Never saw the deposit on the apartment. The scheming devil had fled to Peru. But I got the experience of a lifetime – got to see a real slice of New York far from the touristy breeding grounds. The posters reminded me, in a way, of one of my favourite Warhol pieces: The Triple Rauschenberg. Adios.

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS