This is not for the faint of heart i must warn you…

Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.25.45

mid grey //02b- GRY

You see, colour coding’s my thing. This obsession started quite early with my grouping of my Lego© bricks by colour as a child. I’m not joking. There was no turning back from colour coding. Once you start… I am helpless in its grip, powerless…

After organizing my sizeable CD collection by colour  (to beautiful effect, I might add), my wardrobe, the crockery, my books and the spice cupboard I was running out of new victims for this Serial Organizer in me… And then one day I had an idea… I wonder if there is a way I could colour code my iTunes music library? The rewards would be unimaginable! This would be my greatest feat so far. Over 10,000 songs, thousands of album artwork covers to grade and organise by colour… I set to work. It took me about 2 months but I did it.

Instructions [Maybe pop the kettle on and have a cuppa before proceeding and think things through carefully]

1. Scroll down the “View” menu and click on the “grouping” box.

2. Grab a pen and piece of paper. Design and code your colour chart. This bit’s entirely up to you. Mine goes like this: 01-Wht, 02a-Gry (pale grey), 02b-Gry (mid grey), 02c-Gry (dark grey), 03-Blk… and then colours. I told you this was a labour of love… Beiges, taupes and browns are a nightmare!

3. Trawl through library selecting albums that fit a certain colour code whilst holding down the command key (speeds up the process – think of it as bulk buying) Then press the command and i keys for the information panel to come up. Type in the relevant code in the grouping section. The computer will learn that code so you don’t have to type the whole code every time. Things will begin to take shape depending on the size of your library. Never said this would be easy.

P.S. Don’t forget to update new purchases etc. And for those pesky album covers that defy categorization I created a “multi” code. It actually works quite well. All that chaotic colour confined to one place. Very nice.

Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.26.39Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.26.19Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.25.12Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.27.38Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.31.49Screen shot 2009-11-12 at 20.24.04

Comments

4 Comments

Post a comment
  1. November 14, 2009

    Genius! Now we can truly get rid of our old cd and record collections…

    • Le Fist #
      November 14, 2009

      Haha, way too much time on my hands…

  2. Aftentadevave #
    January 12, 2010

    Thanks for the informative information – I enjoyed reading it! I always enjoy this blog. 🙂 Cheers

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Bowers + Wilkins P5 Headphones « Le Fist Noir

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS